The Devil Delivered and Other Tales Part 2

Title: The Devil Delivered and Other Tales

Story Title: Revolvo

Author: Steven Erikson

Publisher: Transworld Publishers

Imprint: Bantam Press / Bantam Books

Publication Year: 2014

Story Category: Fantasy/Miscellaneous

Rating: 2/5 stars

Weird and wacky is what this story is all about. With the ever changing point of views, there is no way you can predict what comes next.

Steven Erikson’s ‘Revolvo’ from his novel The Devil Delivered and Other Tales is a story about multiple artists in a twisted reality. As they try and survive, battling for their audience’s attention, things become a little strange.

As you get to know each artist, you are left with an unknown certainty of what will happen and how they are all connected to each other.

For me, I specifically enjoyed reading chapters through the eyes of Max, a wannabe artist who follows others like him in an attempt to build his popularity.

I guess I am a bit biased though, as I did read this book intermittently. Reading in this way didn’t allow me to fully comprehend the other characters in this story and maybe that was due to the changing plot line.

During my reading, I found I got distracted by other things in my life and trying to read the book after a week of starting it, wasn’t such a great idea. I am the type of reader who gets confused quite easily if there are multiple point of views in a story. Not saying it was difficult to understand but if you aren’t reading for some time, than it can be hard to immerse yourself back into the story. And this is why I’d recommend reading the book in one or two sittings if you can as it is only 138 pages.

But by all means if you like reading a story like this in that way, then go ahead. Otherwise, this story will suit anyone who likes multiple perspectives and a quirky story-line which ends in a weird but interesting way.

Have you missed Part 1 where I reviewed ‘Fishin with Grandma Matchie’? You can read it here.

If you have any feedback or comments please provide below or via social media channels. My twitter handle is @LucindaF34 or you could find me on My Trending Stories, so feel free to follow me on either.

Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

